Meet the Justices


Kansans get the chance to hold Kansas Supreme Court justices accountable through periodic retention elections — when voters choose whether to keep each justice on the bench. In 2016, five of the seven justices are standing for retention: Chief Justice Nuss and Justices Beier, Biles, Luckert and Stegall.

Kansans for Fair Courts is working to persuade voters to retain all five of the justices in order to preserve a court that has decided cases fairly and impartially and has responded not to the politics of the moment or the politicians of the day — but to the constitution.

Chief Justice Lawton R. Nuss

Appellate Judges School: US Naval Justice School & NYU School of Law
Law School: The University of Kansas (Distinguished Alumnus Award)
Undergraduate: The University of Kansas
Veteran: US Marine Corps

Nuss is a fourth-generation Kansan from Salina. He served in the US Marine Corps and for 20 years had a general law practice in Salina until Gov. Bill Graves appointed him to the Kansas Supreme Court in 2002. As a lawyer, Nuss earned the highest rating for legal ability and professional ethics, based on surveys of judges and fellow lawyers. He became chief justice in 2010.

Justice Marla J. Luckert

Law School: Washburn University
Undergraduate: Washburn University

A native of Goodland, Luckert had a general litigation and health law practice before she became a judge in 1992. As a practicing lawyer, she was selected by her peers selected her for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America and she served as an adjunct professor of law at Washburn University. Gov. Bill Graves appointed Luckert to the Supreme Court in 2003. She has served as president of the Kansas Bar Association and is an active community volunteer.

Justice Carol A. Beier

Law School: The University of Kansas
Undergraduate: Benedictine College & the University of Kansas
Advanced Law Degree: The University of Virginia

Before Gov. Kathleen Sebelius appointed Beier to the Kansas Supreme Court in 2003, she served for nearly four years as a judge on the Kansas Court of Appeals and had a broad trial and appellate legal practice. She has worked extensively on legal and public policy issues affecting women and families and spent a year as a visiting professor at the University of Kansas School of Law. Beier is a native of Kansas City, Kan.

Justice Dan Biles

Law School: Washburn University
Undergraduate: Kansas State University

A native of El Dorado, Biles worked as a statehouse reporter for the Associated Press before launching his legal career. He practiced law in Overland Park for 24 years before Gov. Kathleen Sebelius appointed him to the Supreme Court in 2009. Biles has a long history of volunteering to help disadvantaged Kansans.

Justice Caleb Stegall

Law School: The University of Kansas
Undergraduate: Geneva College

Stegall, a native of Topeka, practiced constitutional and commercial litigation and served as county attorney of Jefferson County. Gov. Sam Brownback appointed him to the Supreme Court in 2014. Stegall also has served as a judge on the Kansas Court of Appeals.

These Kansas Court of Appeals Judges are also on the ballot

Steve Leben
Joseph Pierron
David E. Bruns
G. Gordon Atcheson
Karen Arnold-Burger
Kathryn Gardner